Iran: FM Reasserts Sovereignty Over Persian Gulf Trio Islands


Iranian Foreign Minister Hossein Amirabdollahian described the three islands in the Persian Gulf as inseparable and eternal parts of Iran, stressing that Tehran will by no means compromise on its territorial integrity. 

“The islands of Abu Musa, the Greater Tunb and the Lesser Tunb in the Persian Gulf are inseparable parts of the pure land of Iran and belong to this motherland forever,” Amirabdollahian said in a post on his Twitter account on Saturday.

He emphasized that Iran would never compromise with any country on the importance of respecting the Islamic Republic’s territorial integrity, Press TV reported.

The top Iranian diplomat was reacting to a joint statement issued by China and states of the Persian Gulf Cooperation Council (PGCC) at the end of their summit in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, on Friday.

In their statement, the leaders affirmed their support for all peaceful efforts, including the initiative and endeavors of the United Arab Emirates, to reach a peaceful solution to the issue of the three islands through bilateral negotiations in accordance with the rule of international law and to resolve this issue in accordance with international legitimacy.

The strategically-positioned islands of Abu Musa, the Lesser Tunb, and the Greater Tunb have always been part of Iran, the proof of which can be corroborated by countless historical, legal, and geographical documents in Iran and other parts of the world.

Tehran has on numerous occasions stoutly rejected claims leveled by the Persian Gulf countries to the three Iranian islands, saying that they definitely belong to Iran and will remain sovereign Iranian territories forever.

Tasnim News Agency

Tasnim News Agency, which claims to be a private news agency in Iran but is reported be close to the IRGC, was launched in 2012. Its purpose is to cover a variety of political, social, economic and international subjects along with other fields.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *