ISSN 2330-717X

Sri Lanka Announces New Secretaries Appointed For 18 Ministries


President Mahinda Rajapaksa appointed eighteen new secretaries to ministries late Thursday at the Temple Trees.

Charitha Herath was appointed as the Secretary to the Ministry of Media.

According to media reports, Rajapaksa, speaking at the ceremony, told the new secretaries that their responsibility is to enhance the productivity of their institutions and set an example to the country by achieving their duty efficiently.

“A ministry Secretary is the Head of all institutions under the particular ministry and should make his/her presence felt at the progress review meeting held under the patronage of the minister,” the President said. “Ministry Secretaries should have a proper understanding of the grievances of the public. They should work closely with the respective minister and the officials to provide a better service to the public by solving their problems.”

The following are the newly appointed secretaries:

M.P.C Herath Secretary Ministry of Public Relations and Public Affairs

Anura Siriwardena Secretary, Ministry of Industries and Commerce

Dr. .D. Nihal Jayathilake Secretary, Ministry of Health

Dr. T.R.C Ruberu Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation

W.N. Bandusena Secretary, Ministry of Public Administration and Reforms

G.K.D. Amarawardena Secretary, Ministry of Cooperatives and Internal Trade

U.R Senevirathne Secretary, Ministry Productivity Promotion

Lalith Kannangara Secretary, Ministry of Indigenous Medicine

W.A.Nihal Somaweera Secretary, Ministry of Coconut Development and Janatha Estate Development

Wasantha Ekanayake Secretary, Ministry of Art and Cultural Affairs

P.H.L.W Perera Secretary, Ministry of Construction, Engineering Services, Houses and Common Amenities
A.M. Jayawickrema Secretary, Ministry of Sports

Emelda Sukumar Secretary, Ministry of Social Services

P. H.J.B. Sugathadasa Secretary, Ministry of Resettlement

R.A.A.K. Ranawaka Secretary, Ministry of Local Government and Provincial Councils

M.K.B. Dissanayake Secretary, Ministry of Buddhasasana and Religious Affairs

Charitha Herath Secretary, Ministry of Mass Media and Information

K.P.K Perera Secretary, Ministry of Languages and Social Integration

Click here to have Eurasia Review's newsletter delivered via RSS, as an email newsletter, via mobile or on your personal news page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *