ISSN 2330-717X

Syria: EU Adds 17 Ministers And Central Bank Governor To Sanctions List


The European Council on Monday added 17 ministers and the Governor of the Central Bank of Syria to the list of those targeted by EU restrictive measures against the Syrian regime for being responsible for the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria, benefiting from or supporting the regime, and/or being associated with such persons.


This decision follows the Council conclusions of October 17, 2016 and the European Council conclusions of October 20-21, 2016. This decision brings to 234 the total number of persons subject to a travel ban and an asset freeze for the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria.

In addition, 69 entities are targeted by an asset freeze. More broadly, sanctions currently in place against Syria include an oil embargo, restrictions on certain investments, a freeze of the assets of the Syrian central bank within the EU, export restrictions on equipment and technology that might be used for internal repression as well as on equipment and technology for the monitoring or interception of internet or telephone communications. These measures were last extended on May 27, 2016 and are in place until June 1, 2017.

The EU Council said it remains committed to finding a lasting solution to the conflict in Syria, as there is no military solution to the Syrian civil war, adding “the EU is determined to save lives and continues its intense humanitarian diplomatic effort to deliver aid to Aleppo and wherever needed, and to evacuate the wounded.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.