ISSN 2330-717X

EU Signs Visa Waiver Agreement With Peru


The EU signed Monday a short-stay visa waiver agreement with Peru, at a ceremony that took place in Brussels.

The new visa regime provides for visa-free travel for EU citizens when traveling to the territory of Peru and for citizens of Peru when traveling to the EU, for a period of stay of 90 days in any 180-day period.

On behalf of the EU, the agreement was signed by Bert Koenders, Minister for Foreign and European Affairs of the Netherlands and President of the Council, and by Dimitris Avramopoulos, Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship. On the Peruvian side, Ana María Sánchez de Rios, Minister for Foreign Affairs, signed the agreement.

The signature took place in the presence of the Peruvian President, Ollanta Humala, and the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini.

Bert Koenders, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands and President of the Council said, “This agreement will further increase the political and economic cooperation between EU member states and Peru. It will also strengthen the connection between Peru and Europe by increasing people to people contacts.”

To benefit from visa-free travel, citizens from the EU and Peru must be in possession of a valid ordinary, diplomatic, service/official or special passport. Visa-free travel applies to all categories of persons and for any kind of purposes of travel (for instance tourism, cultural visits, scientific activities, family visits, business etc.), except to persons traveling for the purpose of carrying out a paid activity.

The text of the decision on the conclusion of the Agreement and of the Agreement will now be sent to the European Parliament with a view to obtaining its consent before the Agreement can be concluded. However, it will apply on a provisional basis as from 15 March 2016

Ireland and the United Kingdom will not be subject to the application of the agreement, in accordance with the protocols annexed to the EU treaties. The visa regime to these member states remains subject to their national legislation.

Click here to have Eurasia Review's newsletter delivered via RSS, as an email newsletter, via mobile or on your personal news page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *