ISSN 2330-717X

Sri Lanka Imposing Curfews In Many Areas


Sri Lanka has announced an indefinite curfew has been imposed in the Puttalam, Chilaw and Negombo Police Divisions.

Issuing a statement the Acting IGP C.D. Wickramaratne announced that police curfew has been imposed in the Puttalam and Chilaw police divisions and Kochchikade in the Negombo Police Division from 4.30 pm today until further notice with the aim or controlling the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

The police curfew has been imposed to prevent the flouting of rules and regulations imposed under the quarantine and disease prevention Ordinance.

Accordingly, the following areas will be under police curfew from this evening:

Puttalam Police Division: Puttalam, Anamaduwa, Kalpitiya, Karuwalagaswewa, Mundalama, Nawagattegama, Pallama, Vanathavilluwa, Udappuwa, Norachcholai, Saliya Wewa

Chilaw Police Division: Chilaw, Dankotuwa, Koswatta, Madampe, Marawila, Wennappuwa, Arachchikattuwa

Negombo Police Division: Kochchikade

During the curfew residents are requested to remain indoors, but those engaging in placing deposits for election and handing over nominations and those reporting for work will be permitted to travel.

Further, all essential services and public transport through these areas would also not be hampered despite the curfew being imposed.

Those traveling to the airport could use their air ticket as a curfew pass, the IG further noted in his announcement.

Click here to have Eurasia Review's newsletter delivered via RSS, as an email newsletter, via mobile or on your personal news page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.