ISSN 2330-717X

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Gunawardena Sworn In As New Prime Minister


Dinesh Gunawardena was sworn in as Sri Lanka’s new Prime Minister, the government said Friday.


“Member of Parliament Dinesh Gunawardena has taken oaths as the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka,” the government said in a release, adding that, “He took oaths before President Ranil Wickremesinghe this morning.”

On Thursday, Wickremesinghe was sworn in as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka at the Parliament complex in front of Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya.

In a secret ballot held Wednesday to elect a succeeding president to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa , Wickramasinghe was elected as the succeeding President by getting 134 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.