ISSN 2330-717X

EU Aligns Its North Korea Restrictive Measures With Latest UN Sanctions


The European Council has added one person and 21 entities to the list of those subject to restrictive measures against the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), transposing into EU law sanctions imposed on March 20, 2018 by the UN Security Council (UNSC) Committee established by UNSC resolution 1718 (2006).

These restrictive measures consists of a travel ban and an asset freeze for individuals and an asset freeze for entities. It has also transposed the asset freeze targeting 15 vessels, the port entry ban on 25 vessels and the de-flagging of 12 vessels.

The sanctions were imposed on the DPRK in response to its nuclear weapon and ballistic missile development activities, which are in breach of numerous UNSC resolutions.

The decision brings the total number of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures against the DPRK to 80 persons and 75 entities as listed by the UN. In addition, 55 persons and 9 entities have been sanctioned by the EU autonomously.

EU foreign ministers discussed the situation in the Korean peninsula with the South Korean Foreign Minister, Kang Kyung-wha, on March 19, 2018, in light of the recent announcements made by the DPRK’s leadership and looking ahead to the summit between Kim Jong-un and South Korean President Moon Jae-in scheduled for April and the announced meeting between Kim Jong-un and US President Donald Trump. They welcomed South Korea’s efforts to de-escalate tensions in the peninsula and improve intra-Korean relations, and to create the conditions needed to work towards a diplomatic solution aimed at the complete, verifiable and irreversible denuclearisation of the Korean Peninsula.

The EU implements all UN Security Council resolutions adopted in response to the DPRK’s nuclear programmes and nuclear weapons, other weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missile programmes. In addition, the EU has imposed autonomous restrictive measures against the DPRK, complementing and reinforcing the UN sanctions regime.

The legal acts were adopted by written procedure. They will be published in the Official Journal of April 9.

Click here to have Eurasia Review's newsletter delivered via RSS, as an email newsletter, via mobile or on your personal news page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *