Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant Awards 2023 Coach Of The Year Finalists Named


Eight active college football coaches make up the American Heart Association’s 2023 class of Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award finalists.

The award is given each January to a college football coach for contributions that make the sport better for athletes and fans alike by demonstrating grit, integrity and a winning approach to coaching and life – both on and off the field. The finalists and Coach of the Year recipient are voted on by the National Sports Media Association, the Bryant Awards’ Executive Leadership Team and the Bryant Family.

New for 2023, six of the finalists were also named individual Bear Bryant conference coaches of the year for their respective college conferences.

The 2023 Coach of the Year Finalists are (in alphabetical order by finalist last name):

  • David Braun – Northwestern University (Bear Bryant Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year)
  • Jamey Chadwell – Liberty University (Bear Bryant Group of Five Conference Coach of the Year)
  • Kalen DeBoer – University of Washington (Bear Bryant Pac-12 Conference Coach of the Year)
  • Eliah Drinkwitz – University of Missouri (Bear Bryant SEC Coach of the Year)
  • Rhett Lashlee – Southern Methodist University
  • Mike Norvell – Florida State University (Bear Bryant ACC Coach of the Year)
  • Nick Saban – University of Alabama
  • Steve Sarkisian – University of Texas at Austin (Bear Bryant Big 12 Conference Coach of the Year)

Now in its 38th year, the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year award winner will be announced live from Houston’s Post Oak Hotel on Wednesday, January 10, 2024, during an awards ceremony presented by Marathon Oil.

The American Heart Association, the leading voluntary health organization devoted to a world of longer, healthier lives for all, and the Bryant family present the award annually to celebrate Bear Bryant’s legacy and raise awareness and critical funds for scientific research to eliminate needless suffering and death from cardiovascular disease and stroke, the leading causes of death globally. The football coaching legend died from a heart attack in 1983.

In addition to the Coach of the Year, the Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards will also present Conference Coach of the Year Awards from each of the Power Five collegiate athletic conferences (Atlantic Coast Conference, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and Southeastern Conference) and one from the Group of Five conferences (American Athletic Conference, Conference USA, Mid-American Conference, Mountain West Conference and Sun Belt Conference).

As previously announced, coaching legend Lloyd Carr, former University of Michigan head coach, and Archie Manning, former University of Mississippi and New Orleans Saints quarterback, and his wife Olivia will also be recognized at this year’s awards event. Coach Carr will receive the 2024 Paul “Bear” Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Memorial Hermann Health System in Houston, and Archie and Olivia Manning will receive the 2024 Heart of a Champion Award presented by St. Luke’s Health in Houston.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *